On now

Named in honour of pioneering modernist painter Gordon Walters (1919–1995), the Walters Prize is awarded for an outstanding work of contemporary New Zealand art produced and exhibited during the past two years.

The biennial prize aims to make contemporary art a more widely recognised and debated feature of cultural life. The selected artists for this year’s iteration are Fiona Amundsen, Sonya Lacey, Mata Aho Collective and Sriwhana Spong. Their work addresses how histories are experienced, recounted and kept alive in the present, intergenerational and ethical relationships, and the circulation of information through various media.

The winning artist will be announced at the Walters Prize award dinner to be held in the Gallery on Saturday, 7 August.

Find out more


Featured image: Fiona Amundsen A Body that Lives (installation view), 2018, a video and photographic installation with Fuyuko Akiyoshi, Kayoko Ebina, Ben Kuroki, Nobuyoshi Maehira, Asumi Mizuo, Teruo Murakami, Michiko Uehara and Mami Yamada, ST PAUL ST Gallery, 2018, Photo: Sam Hartnett

 The exhibition – and the announcement of the winner of this renowned award – means the Walters Prize provides an opportunity for all New Zealanders to discover the pulse of contemporary art in the country today

Walters Prize jury statement